Shams No. 3

While Bec was being lashed by rain in the Rila Mountains, I was on a weekend mountain adventure of my own.  I headed into Oman on Thursday evening and arrived at the hotel around 8:30 pm.  The weather was much the opposite of Bulgaria that day being mid-June in the Hajar Mountains, but it is significantly cooler at higher elevation.  I was off again with the UAE Trekkers and made the summit of Jebel Shams for the 3rd time on Friday, June 16th.  We had a large group and everyone was super fit.  We made the summit in 2 groups with me, as a Trek Leader, guiding the slightly slower second group.  We arrived at the top around 11:30 am, had lunch while enjoying the views, and headed back down.  That night, we had a nice dinner at the hotel and had a fire on the terrace off the back of my room.  As usual, everyone was exhausted from the hike and our campfire didn’t last too long into the evening.  I’ve posted about Shams before so I’ll spare you too many further details about my last hike of the season.

On Saturday, I stopped at Al Hoota Cave, located at the foot of Jebel Shams.  A short train takes you inside the cave where you dismount and walk through on a guided tour.  The cave is home to blind fish and the cave floods every time it rains.  It had been on my list for a while and I’m glad I stopped in before heading back to AD.

Check out the link to their website for more interesting info:

http://www.alhootacave.com/the-cave/

Summit team

Yours truly

 

This entry was posted in Oman, The Middle East and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shams No. 3

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Hey Dan. You’re getting to be a regular there. Love your adventures. Keep em coming.

    • danroyerickson says:

      Hey Uncle Dale,

      Now that I think about it, Oman may well be my most visited country.

      On Sat, Jul 29, 2017 at 8:04 PM, Bec and Dan's Overseas Adventure wrote:

      >

  2. rrettenmier says:

    Those caves look pretty cool. I want to go next time!

  3. Zack Klamn says:

    Looking good Dan Time, especially the hat.
    Great update man!

Leave a Reply

