Weekend in Seattle

Jami here, for my first ever guest blog post!

After Rebecca had a great time eating burgers and drinking New York cocktails, she flew out to Seattle for the weekend. She arrived late Friday night, so we just had a quick catch up and a glass of wine before going to bed.

Since Bec had been to a lot of the sights in Seattle when her & Dan were here for New Years 2016, I decided to mix it up a bit and get out of town. On Saturday morning after having a little breakfast, we headed out to Snoqualmie, east of the city about half an hour. There’s a short little hike near the waterfall that we did before having lunch at the Salish Lodge.

Snoqualmie Waterfall


Jami at the Falls

We lunched on delicious Beecher’s grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup with a glass of bubbles while we overlooked the spectacular view of the falls, then stopped in to the gift shop for a little browse. There were tons of references to Twin Peaks, a famous TV show from the early 90’s directed by David Lynch. I watched all the episodes and movie when I moved to Seattle, but Rebecca had never seen it so I gave her the lowdown. One of the main characters, FBI Agent Dale Cooper, frequented a local coffee shop and always ordered a “damn fine cup of coffee and a piece of cherry pie”. It just so happens there is a little cafe still in North Bend where you can have this Twin Peaks experience, so we decided to go check it out.

Damn fine cup of coffee and a piece of cherry pie


Bec outside the Twin Peaks Cafe

We made our way back into the city, dropped off the car at my apartment, then got on the light rail to Pioneer Square, just a few stops away. I wanted Rebecca to experience the Smith Tower, as it has become one of my favourite places in Seattle. I love the history of the building and the view! It was built in 1914 and is the oldest skyscraper in Seattle. During the prohibition era, whiskey smuggled from Canada made it into the secret rooms in the tower, which saw many famous and diverse people. In 2016, the tower opened their new speak easy style cafe on the 35th floor, which is also the observatory deck. The staff dress in 1920’s era clothing, and they serve interesting cocktails and local beer and wine. I feel like I’ve become the unofficial spokesperson for the Smith Tower, as I like to tell anyone who will listen how great it is!

Jami drinking bubbles


View from Smith Tower

That evening we made our way back to Capital Hill to have a cocktail. In the midst of deciding on a place to check out, 12th Avenue suddenly filled up with protesters, marching for Black Lives Matter, women’s equality and against the president of the US. It was a peaceful march, so we took it in for a bit before ducking into Tavern Law. Our bartender mixed some great drinks for us, and we had a snack before retiring to the apartment for the night. We had some dinner and a few games of cribbage then called it a night.

The next morning we took a lovely stroll around my neighbourhood and checked out the view of Lake Union. We got in the car and headed north to Woodinville, a popular wine region about 40 minutes from downtown. There are many wineries, breweries and distilleries in the area, so it was a bit hard to choose which one to go to first. Because I’m a fan of Mark Ryan, we decided to share a tasting there. The wines are so delicious!

Mark Ryan tasting menu


Selection of Mark Ryan wines

We had some lunch at The Commons before going over to Chateau Ste. Michelle. This is definitely one of the larger estates in the area, and their distribution is far & wide. They have a field behind the buildings that has outdoor concerts throughout the summer. We hit up the bar for another shared tasting. One of the wines didn’t quite taste right, and we discovered it was corked. It was the first time that had happened to me, and clearly it was a rare occurrence for the staff as well, because they passed around the cork and everyone got a chance to smell what it was like.

Chateau Ste.Michelle Estate grounds

After that, we headed back into the city for a quiet night at home. I dropped Rebecca off at the airport bright and early so she could make her way back to Berlin. It was so great to have Rebecca visit me in Seattle! Hope to see you soon.

About Jami Scott

I realized lately that the memories I have when I was a kid are all related to food somehow: stealing peas from my grandparent's garden, freshly baked bread smothered in butter, eating twizzlers on summer holidays, tinfoil chicken on the barbeque. The reason this is so significant is because my brother often has to remind me of any other memories I should have. I've always had a strange fascination with restaurants and grocery stores and farmers markets. A holistic nutritionist by trade and an avid alternative diet researcher, my biggest passion is plant-based lifestyles, but I am open to trying anything. I want my blog to be about anything from the latest wine I've tried to eating falafel in Turkey. And my avenue to share about all the great experiences I've had. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend in Seattle

  1. rrettenmier says:

    Thanks for being a great host and guest blogger. I think the highlight was Smith Tower and Washington wine country!

  2. Dan says:

    Hey Jami. Great blog! You ladies seem to have a great time together no matter what you’re up to.

Leave a Reply

