New Digs

After Oktoberfest, I was back to the grind at work. During the next 3 weeks, I would be spending most of my spare time looking for an apartment. I was also trying to get a few other things set up like a German phone number, bank account, gym membership, etc. After spending countless hours searching and 10 apartment viewings, I finally found what I was looking for. I moved into the new apartment in the Mitte area on October 23rd. On move in night, I kept up our tradition and ordered in pizza for dinner.

New Pad

New Pad

Move In Pizza

Move In Pizza

During this busy time, I also managed to check out the Festival of Lights. The festival uses light projections and video art to illuminate Berlin’s most famous landmarks. I also found a movie theatre that shows movies in English so I went to see Bridget Jones Diary on opening night. The rest of my time in October was spent getting things settled in the new digs. I hope to have many people come to visit!

Festival of Lights - Brandenburg Gate

Festival of Lights – Brandenburg Gate

Berlin Cathedral

Berlin Cathedral

 

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Berlin, Germany and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Digs

  1. Judy Erickson says:

    Yikes — looks pretty posh as Bridgette would say!!

  2. Uncle Dale says:

    Please advise as to what your senior rates might be. I know the hospitality will be excellent. Enjoy the new digs.

  3. Dan says:

    It’s a super pad indeed! Well worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

