Calgary Long Weekend & San Fran Training

Soon after my visa trip to Berlin, I was on my way to attend a 2 day course in San Francisco. Once this was confirmed, I thought it would be best to take a couple of days off work to head to Calgary for a visit first. I flew the 15 hour, 50 min flight to SFO on August 23rd with a 7 hour layover, and finally arrived at 6:00 pm. Mom and Paige picked me up and that evening we barbequed some steak and potatoes for dinner and I popped opened a bottled of Black Sage from BC’s Okanagan.  The next morning Paige and I went for a nice 6 km run outside and in the afternoon Mom and I went to Barry and Margaret’s to play a few rounds of crib. That evening I met up with some of the Strathmore girls at Craft for a beer. It was great seeing Megan, Tasha, Tanya, Danielle and Jackie.

Sisters at Craft

Sisters at Craft

Drinks with Meg!

Drinks with Meg!

On Friday, I went out to Strathmore with Paige to take Saedie and Nova for their vet appointment. On the way back, we picked up a bag of peaches and cream Taber corn from Langdon and then went grocery shopping for the BBQ we had planned the next day. In the afternoon, Paige and I caught a movie at chinook and then I walked over to Barry & Margaret’s place. My mom and Carole were also there and we had a nice dinner from the Silver Dragon. Barry and Carole then joined me for a visit over at Doug and Jeri Lynne’s.

Taber Corn Truck

Taber Corn Truck

Ladies Enjoying the Weather

Ladies Enjoying the Weather

Dinner @ Barry's

Dinner @ Barry’s

Saturday morning I went over to Scott & Jenelle’s to visit with them and the kids. We had a nice visit with coffee and some delicious scones from cobs bread. When I got back, we starting the prep work for our bbq that afternoon at 2:00 pm. Paige had invited some of her friends and Megan joined us as well. I was in charge of the barbequing which included carrots and turnips (for our salads) as well as a cedar plank salmon and the Taber corn. Let’s just say this was my favourite meal while I was home.

Backyard Patio Bevies

Backyard Patio Bevies

Working the BBQ

Working the BBQ

Sister's Enjoying the BBQ

Sister’s Enjoying the BBQ

Sunday was my last day in Calgary and the main plan was to hit up the food truck festival happening nearby. Judy came in early for a visit and then we walked over to the food trucks. I decided to go for the beef brisket and we got an order of poutine to share. My friends Enza and Mike, with their 2 little ones, and Leslie Dang also met us there. It was great catching up with them. I had one last glass of Beringer with mom before Paige dropped me off at the airport to take my evening flight to SFO. A wonderful visit home!

Poutine with The Moms

Poutine with The Moms

Food Trucks with Enza & Leslie

Food Trucks with Enza & Leslie

I spent 2 days in San Francisco for my training course but unfortunately I was staying out near the airport. I didn’t make it into the city centre but I spent my 2 free evenings shopping in nearby Burlingame. I flew back on August 31 just in time for the weekend in Abu Dhabi.

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Canada, USA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Calgary Long Weekend & San Fran Training

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Sounds like a fun trip Rebecca. We are going to hit San Francisco one of these days. Hope you can recommend a good California red when the time comes. Hope Berlin is working out for you.

  2. danroyerickson says:

    Sounds like you were just going from one BBQ to the next! I am jealous I couldn’t come too.

    On Sun, Nov 6, 2016 at 9:02 PM, Bec and Dan’s Overseas Adventure wrote:

    > rrettenmier posted: “Soon after my visa trip to Berlin, I was on my way > to attend a 2 day course in San Francisco. Once this was confirmed, I > thought it would be best to take a couple of days off work to head to > Calgary for a visit first. I flew the 15 hour, 50 min flight to ” >

Leave a Reply

