Last Stop – España

On Wednesday, December 2nd Jen and I made our way up to Heathrow airport. I decided to try flying standby as the last minute flight cost was too expensive for my blood. Luckily, there was room and I made it on the same flight as Jen who was traveling to Madrid for work. We landed and made our way to the Hotel Unico in the city centre. Jen had business to attend to that evening so I was on my own to do a bit of exploring. I wandered around the area and found a nearby gourmet food shop, Casa Riera Ordeix, where I picked up some manchego cheese, bread and rustic style salchichón. I finished my night by digging into my tapas and popping the cork on a bottle of cava while watching a Real Madrid match on the tele.

Jen and I had breakfast the next morning before she hit the road for a meeting. We then met up for a delicious lunch at the nearby Ten con Ten restaurant. Jen and I had to sadly part ways post lunch as she was catching the train down to Barcelona for some more business meetings.

Lunch at Ten con Ten, Madrid

Lunch at Ten con Ten, Madrid

It was a beautiful day out so I spent the afternoon strolling down the shop lined streets to Parque de El Retiro. I walked through the park for a few hours and then made my way past Puerta de Alcalá before heading back up to the hotel to get freshened up for my 9:00pm dinner reservation at Ramon Freixa in our hotel, which I found out had 2 Michelin stars. I selected the “Territory Menu” with wine pairings which included 9 snacks to start, starter, main course and sweet moment. It was a delicious experience and a great way to end my trip! I then hopped in a taxi to the Hilton Hotel near the airport as I was flying back to Abu Dhabi the next morning. It was really great to travel with Jen and visit three countries including France, England and Spain in a flash.

Parque de El Retiro

Parque de El Retiro

Alcalá Gate

Alcalá Gate

Ramon Freixa Dessert

Ramon Freixa Dessert

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Europe, Spain and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Last Stop – España

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Hey Rebecca. What a trip. I know this can’t top 3 countries in a flash, in about that same time I went to Walmart, Home Depot and Canadian Tire. And lunch on one of those days was a loaded hot dog. Keep em coming.

  2. Judy Erickson says:

    Lucky!!!!!

  3. Jen says:

    We even went to the same bar and didn’t know it! lol Wish I could have explored with you! looks great!

Leave a Reply

