Fall trip to Canada

I flew to Toronto for business on Saturday, September 19 where I would be spending the next 5 nights at the Chelsea Eaton downtown hotel. I was there for work but did find the time to enjoy a bit of shopping at the nearby Eaton Centre, took in the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) and watched a few Blue Jays vs. NY Yankees games on TV. Oddly enough my brother-in-law, Scott, and 2 of his friends were also in town to catch the 3 game series with the Yankees. So we made arrangements to meet up before one of the games and our cousin Ally and her boyfriend also joined us. What are the odds?

Impromptu Erickson family visit in TO

Impromptu Erickson family visit in TO

When I learned I would be going to Canada for work, I decided it would make good sense to pop home for a short weekend visit. After work was done on Thursday, I flew to Calgary and my sister picked me up at the airport. We stopped by the WestJet headquarters to visit a few WestJetters and then surprised mom back at the house. She opened the door and did a double take. Surprise! The next morning, Paige and I went for a run along the river taking in all of the beautiful fall colours. In the afternoon, I met up with my friend Megan for a drink at Chinook Centre. It was great catching up with her. Then I met up with Paige and her friends to take in a movie at the cinema.

Drinks with Meg!

Drinks with Meg!

On Saturday, mom and I went to my rental condo to do some painting. After we were finished up at the condo, we went to visit Grandma Margaret and Barry. We had some delicious homemade pea soup for lunch and played a few crib matches.  That evening, mom went dancing and Paige and I met up with Jami and Tarina for dinner at Earls. Thanks for flying up from Seattle Jami!

Having dinner with Jami Scott

Having dinner with Jami Scott

On Sunday morning,  I joined Paige at church and then mom and I went to the Crossroads market to meet up with Jami and Megan. We wandered around the market and had a delicious Ukrainian lunch of perogies. I met up with Enza for a quick coffee and then  drove over to COP to take part in the Skyline luge. You take the chair lift up the hill and then drive your cart down the longest track in the world. After the luge, Paige and I joined her friends for an 18 hole round of Frisbee Golf at Baker Park. For those of you who haven’t played, you basically throw your frisbee down the fairway and try to get it in the basket. It was a great way to spend the afternoon and we had a lot of fun!

Skyline Luge Ride

Skyline Luge Ride

First time Frisbee golfers

First time Frisbee golfers

On Monday, we went for another morning run and then started getting a few things prepped for Early Thanksgiving dinner. That afternoon I stopped by for a visit to see Scott, Jenelle and the kids. It was great seeing them. The ham was just finishing in the oven when I got back and we cooked up some sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, roasted carrots, and of course pumpkin pie with freshly whipped cream. It was delicious.

Early Thanksgiving dinner

Early Thanksgiving dinner

I flew out the next morning back to Toronto and then onwards to Abu Dhabi. It was great to be home during the fall season, to catch up with friends, and to celebrate Early Thanksgiving with family.

 

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Canada. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall trip to Canada

  1. Judy Erickson says:

    Whirlwind but great to be able to see so many people and do so much!!!

Leave a Reply

