High Speed Dirt

It’s a bit of a long story, but a friend of ours left Abu Dhabi last year and this spawned an idea…a group tandem sky dive.  My buddy, Spence, talked me into jumping so we put down our deposits.  Our friend left Abu Dhabi and couldn’t make the dive so that left just Spence and I.  We’d been trying to find a weekend where we were both free and it wasn’t the middle of summer.

So finally, after much ado, Spence, I, and the ladies headed up to Dubai on the morning of Friday, May 8th.  We got checked in to our marina hotel and wondered down “The Walk” to find a bite of lunch.  Spence and I then caught a taxi to Skydive Dubai for an introductory training session on our tandem dive.  We met our tandem instructors, suited up, and got the rundown.

We let the ladies know that we were next into the plane so they could join us at the dive centre to see us land.  The plane took off from its private runway near the Marina shore and the Palm Jumeirah.  Its corkscrew flight pattern gave us an amazing view of Dubai.  When we reached 13,000 ft (4000m) the doors opened and a few solo jumpers bailed out.  My instructor, Anouk, and I were the first tandem pair up.  They tested my nerves on the way up to see if I remembered her name and proved they were made of steel…I was the first jumper that day to remember her name!  After a one, two, three we jumped out, sort of rolled backwards by the force of the air, and then flattened out.  We were soon hurdling towards the earth at 200 km/h with the Palm and Marina in view.  It was quite a sensation.

Anouk and Dan...Got your boarding passes?

Anouk and Dan…Got your boarding passes?

What did you talk me into Spence???

What did you talk me into Spence???

What a view

What a view

Any bugs in my teeth?

Any bugs in my teeth?

Pull the chute!

Pull the chute!

Anouk pulled the cord at 5000 ft and we slowed down to a more leisurely pace.  After a quick lesson, Anouk let me take over the controls and I made both a full left and right turn.  Passing back the controls, she took us in for a smooth landing on the lawn in front of Skydive Dubai.  Still vibrating from the adrenalin I waved to Jenn and Rebecca then looked up to see Spence come in for his landing.

Back to Earth

Back to Earth

Two guys of the Abu Dhabi Airborne Division

Two guys of the Abu Dhabi Airborne Division

We went inside to return our gear and pick up our USB sticks.  What’s great about Skydive Dubai is that they assign a photographer jumper to each tandem pair so you are left with awesome pictures and a great video.

That night we celebrated with a seaside dinner and a little salsa dancing.  The next day we had a nice breakfast, hit the pool, and visited Dubai Miracle Gardens.  Superb weekend in Dubai.

Dubai Marina

Dubai Marina

Morning Stroll on the Beach

Morning Stroll on the Beach

Bec and Dan at Dubai Miracle Garden

Bec and Dan at Dubai Miracle Garden

Spence and Jenn inside the Butterfly Garden

Spence and Jenn inside the Butterfly Garden

 

This entry was posted in The Middle East, United Arab Emirates. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to High Speed Dirt

  1. Judy Erickson says:

    I sure am glad you don’t tell me things before you do them!!!

Leave a Reply

