One night in Belgrade

On Sunday, November 23 I flew on the 6 hour red eye flight to Belgrade, Serbia for work. Serbia, officially the Republic of Serbia, is a country situated at the crossroads between Central and Southeast Europe, covering the southern part of the Pannonian Plain and the central Balkans. I  arrived on Monday morning and checked into the Hotel Metropole Palace on Bulevar Kralja Aleksandra.  I spent the day at the office and that evening went out for dinner at the Restoran Madera Beograd, a restaurant not far from our hotel. After dinner, I walked down to the Nikola Pašić Square in downtown Belgrade. I saw the National Parliament building passing St. Marko’s church along the way before heading back to the hotel. It was my first real taste of some cooler winter weather.

Parliament at night

Parliament at night

The flight the next morning was at midday so I took the opportunity to take a walk before heading up to the airport. Most of the shops were closed but I grabbed a coffee and strolled up and down the main street before catching another glimpse of the Parliament building and St. Marko’s. On the way back to the hotel, I spotted a little café which was serving up burek, a favorite of ours. Getting nostalgic, I decided I had to bring back some burek for Dan to enjoy. They had 3 traditional kinds including mish, spinach and cheese. Overall, I really enjoyed my time spent in Belgrade and hope to return some day for some more burek.

St. Marko's Church

St. Marko’s Church

Byrek shop

Burek shop

 

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One night in Belgrade

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Nice to see you back on the road Rebecca.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Hi Dan and Rebecca its your cousin Stephanie. My Dad often sends me links to your posts and I love reading about all your adventures so I’ve signed up. I hope all is well. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

