Thanksgiving Weekend

After our visit with Uncle Steve and Auntie Susan, I found out that I had to go to London on a last minute work assignment. I flew the afternoon of Sunday, October 12. I got in a bit later than planned, hopped on the Piccadilly line tube, and checked into the Novotel hotel in Hammersmith. I ordered some fish and chips with mushy peas and then hit the hay. The next day I worked and then met up with my friend Jen. She had invited me to join her and some friends for a Thanksgiving dinner with the Canadian Womens Group. We met up in central London at a pub called the Counting House and dinner included all of the fixings like turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberries, and of course pumpkin pie for dessert. Dan unfortunately had to have a bachelor’s Thanksgiving this year but he seemed to do alright for himself with some turkey breast, mashed potatoes, and creamed corn.

Jen was nice enough to meet up with me at my hotel for dinner the next 2 nights. We were going to venture out the second night but it was pissing down rain so we decided to eat in the hotel. Another great visit in London right before Jen’s upcoming visit to Abu Dhabi.

Drinking some local UK brew

Drinking some local UK brew

Thanksgiving dinner in London

Thanksgiving dinner in London

Dan's Thanksgiving dinner in Abu Dhabi

Dan’s Thanksgiving dinner in Abu Dhabi

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in England, Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Weekend

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Lucky you Rebecca, real fish and chips and a turkey dinner. I’ve been in your shoes Dan. All I can recommend is a turkey gravy packet. I see you were a little short of olives too.

  2. Uncle Stephen & Aunt Susan says:

    That is one sad looking Thanksgiving meal Dan. Where was the chilled white wine? Those olives would have been good marinating in vodka or gin, perhaps? Chiyars!

Leave a Reply

