Seminar in Singapore

On 23 April 2014, I flew eight hours to Singapore to attend a 2 day course at the amazing Marina Bay Sands Hotel located along the waterfront. Dan was originally supposed to join me but with work commitments and difficulties getting a flight back he wasn’t able to make it. I arrived late on Wednesday evening, checked into the hotel and hit up the lobby bar for some dim sum and Tiger Beer.

Dim Sum Yum

Dim Sum Yum

Marina Bay Sands Hotel

Marina Bay Sands Hotel

The next morning I went to the first day of the seminar. Afterwards, I went up to the Infiniti pool on the 57th floor to catch some views of the city before the sunset. That evening I decided it was about time to try my first Singapore Sling before wandering over to the Marina Bay Sands mall to treat myself to a nice dinner at one of the Michelin star restaurants on offer. After much deliberation, I decided to opt for “Cut”, one of Wolfgang Pucks steak restaurants. Needless to say, I was not the least bit disappointed.

Rooftop pool at sunset

Rooftop pool at sunset

The famous Singapore Sling

The famous Singapore Sling

I attended the second day of my seminar and we were on our own for lunch so I made my way to the food court. I spotted a great spot and ordered up the local char kway teow (fried rice noodles with clams, Chinese sausage and egg tossed with soy sauce).

Char Kway Teow

Char Kway Teow

That evening I went to watch the water show and then had dinner at Sky on 57, franco-asian cuisine with a bird’s eye view of the city and the bay. This time I tried the signature foie gras xiao long bao and fried sakura chicken, though I must say neither were my favourite.

City skyline at night

City skyline at night

I had planned an extra day when Dan was supposed to join me so I had one day to tour around the city. First, I hit the rooftop pool in the morning until check out time. Then I decided I wanted to do something outside so I made my way over to Gardens By the Bay where I spent 4 hours wandering around the flower dome and cloud forest.

Tulip festival at Cloud Dome

Tulip festival at Flower Dome

Selfie at Gardens by the Bay

Selfie at Gardens by the Bay

My flight was later that evening so I had a quick order of spring rolls and one last Tiger beer before making my way up to the airport. I was very fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay at such a fabulous hotel and get a quick glimpse into Singaporean culture.

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Asia. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seminar in Singapore

  1. Judy Erickson says:

    Wow what a hotel!!! Lucky girl!!! Views of the city too good and the pool was a perfect place to take it in!!

  2. Barry Buker says:

    Rebecca…….great pictures,living the good life is the way to go……..Bear

  3. Uncle Dale says:

    Super stuff Rebecca. That hotel looks spectacular. I’d rank it first over the Smokey Lake motel. Too bad your place didn’t serve Coors Lite though. Loved the photos.

  4. rrettenmier says:

    Thanks for the comments guys! Singapore was a great trip.

Leave a Reply

