Ho Chi Minh City

On Wednesday, April 9th 2014, I flew 7.5 hours from Abu Dhabi to Ho Chi Minh City for work. It was a good week to go as Dan was working on site that week. My colleague and I arrived in the evening and after dropping our bags at the hotel, we were off to a late dinner cruise. We drove through the downtown area, trying to take in the sites along the way, until we arrived at the Saigon River. We cruised along the river enjoying the local 333 Saigon beer and our first taste of Vietnamese food. We had Vietnamese hot pot which was a similar concept as the Chinese version but not near as spicy.

Shrimp Hot Pot Onboard

Shrimp Hot Pot Onboard

Chicken Wings Vietnamese Style

Chicken Wings Vietnamese Style

Spinach or Local Greens

Spinach or Local Greens

City Lights

City Lights

Cruising along the Saigon River

Cruising along the Saigon River

Since I was there for work I didn’t get any time for sightseeing so I made sure I got my fill of local food instead. Salad rolls, ginger chicken, clam soup, Pho (beef noodle soup), and some other items that were delicious but unfortunately I don’t know the names. I was also able to squeeze in a massage on my last night before heading back to Abu Dhabi.

My Nameless Favourite Dish

My Nameless Favourite Dish

Cheesy Spring Rolls?

Cheesy Spring Rolls?

The Classic Salad Roll

The Classic Salad Roll

Pho Soup

Pho Soup

Assortment of Local Fruits

Assortment of Local Fruits

Even though it was just a short 2 night trip to Vietnam I got a fill for the flavour and definitely plan to return one day.

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in Asia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ho Chi Minh City

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Wow Rebecca. Great pictures of some really interesting grub. I don’t think it’s the same but your nameless favorite dish looks like the pancakes I had in the Greenhead Motel in Provost during my travels in Alberta. I hope your getting the recipes for these dishes. They look wonderful.

Leave a Reply

