Reunited in Abu Dhabi

As Dan mentioned, he flew 2 weeks before me so I had some additional time in Canada to visit with friends and family. My last days at home were a lot of fun. I flew to Vancouver to visit my friend Jami as well as Dan’s Uncle Stephen and Auntie Susan. I flew out on Friday and was back Saturday afternoon to make my friend, Megan’s, combined birthday party for her and her daughter Alex. That evening I joined my mom at one of her dances and quickly learned how to do the polka. On Sunday, my mom, my sister and I went 5 pin bowling and then to a movie. It was a great last weekend in Canada! The timing ended up working well as my friend Jen was also visiting from London so I got the chance to catch up with her. Early the next week I learned I would be flying to Abu Dhabi on Thursday, June 7th to be reunited with Dan in Abu Dhabi.

I arrived on the evening of Friday, June 8th and was greeted by Dan with flowers at the airport after a 13 hour flight from Toronto. We took a taxi back to the hotel and had some drinks and an Arabic hot mezze (sharing platter) on the rooftop patio. The next day was Saturday so Dan had the day off. We enjoyed lounging by the pool and went out for a sushi dinner that evening. We also took a stroll down along the Corniche (waterfront) as well. The next day Dan was back at work as Sunday is the beginning of the work week here. After work, we had an appointment with a realtor to look at an apartment downtown. We are hoping to put a deposit down on it today but will not get possession until August 17th. So those of you wanting to come and visit in the fall, we should have a spare room ready for you!

Rooftop Pool at the Oryx Hotel

 

View of Corniche from Hotel Rooftop

View from the Corniche at Night

We are hoping to find some temporary accommodation in the meantime as well as sorting out the rest of our transition details such as residency visas, setting up a bank account, getting an ID card, driver’s license, etc etc in the next coming weeks. I will also be starting my new job in one week on Monday, June 18th. I have 3 days of “Marhaba” or “Welcome” training and will also need to get my medical tests done. We will keep you posted on how all that is going.

About rrettenmier

In September 2010, Dan and I received working visas for the United Kingdom. We sold our condo, quit our jobs and packed our bags to move to London. This blog (though a few months late) is designed to update our friends and family back home about where we are and what we are up to.
This entry was posted in United Arab Emirates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reunited in Abu Dhabi

  1. Uncle Dale says:

    Live it up you two. Wish I was there.

Leave a Reply

